The Selfie Generation – An Essay on Today’s Standards of Beauty

They call us the selfie generation. They say we’re the vainest generation yet, that we were raised by the internet. All of those labels will be true—well, at least until the next generation crops up.

‘Selfie’ is now a recognized word in the Oxford English Dictionary. The hashtag #selfiesunday was coined and brought into mass mania pop culture mainly by teens and pre-teens–mostly girls–who seek the admiration of total strangers. There’s even a song about selfies with over 170 million views on YouTube. Facebook is filled with ‘like for rate’ and ‘like for tbh’ statuses; Twitter, with indirects (insulting tweets directed at someone unnamed but known amongst peers which often target physical appearance or promiscuity). Teens, no matter how vehemently they protest that they don’t care what others think of them, do care. They thirst for attention or their five minutes of fame, which translates for them into a well-posed selfie or profile picture. And we all buy into that mania. Every single one of us.

We live in a world where ten-year-olds have iPhones and fifteen-year-old girls eke out an existence solely on popularity, where beauty is measured not in aesthetic appeal but in the number of likes on profile pictures, and the number of comments received from the opposite gender praising their attractiveness. This marker has become so important that girls will turn to makeup, Photoshop, and even buying followers or likes on Instagram. There is so much importance placed on these pictures that even outside makeup, these photoshoots can take hours; their backdrop must be impeccable, the lighting sublime, and their pose perfect. Maybe they spend even more time perfecting their pose and expressions in a mirror, so they know just how to hold themselves and manufacture their photogenicity when the chance for an impromptu selfie arises.

Every teenage girl holds an unofficial Masters Degree in Marketing, and they are professionals at selling their images. In this day and age where imperfections are seen as problems, they have to be. They know their audience and just how to pitch to them, just how to dress themselves and pose themselves and make themselves up. They know how to toe the line between decent and indecent. They know their good sides, how to make certain aspects of their body seem smaller and others bigger.

And I am a girl like any other; I take selfies on occasion and find myself hoping desperately for admiration from my peers, for those likes and comments from boys that supposedly control my worth as a human being. And if I judge myself exclusively on that criteria, then I’m not beautiful. On a scale of 1 to 10, I might be a 3. Maybe that’s because I don’t pose right or do my makeup right or show enough skin, or because I sit in the back of my classes quietly and don’t say anything. And maybe I should stop getting bothered by the likes garnered by a peer’s bikini picture. Because likes on my selfies do not measure who I am, and beauty is more than likes-deep.

In which I talk about teenage girls, selfie culture, and being a teenager in a digital age in an essay on the internet generation's standards of manufactured #beauty #selfiegeneration


Follow me on Twitter (@alexisabooknerd) and check out my writing here!

6 thoughts on “The Selfie Generation – An Essay on Today’s Standards of Beauty

  1. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossip and web stuff and this is really irritating. A good web site with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for making this website, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters by email?

    Like

    1. Hi! I’m really glad you like my posts 🙂 And no, I don’t currently have a newsletter. As I grow and get more readers, that might be an option, but right now it’s not quite feasible.

      Like

  2. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to say keep
    up the great job!

    Like

Add a Comment

