January Watches

I watch a lot of TV, guys. So if you’re like me and want a new show to binge on, here are my current three favourite shows.

  • THE 100

Set 97 years after a nuclear war has destroyed civilization, when a spaceship housing humanity’s lone survivors sends 100 juvenile delinquents back to Earth in hopes of possibly re-populating the planet.

HOLY [redacted swearword] THIS SHOW.

I’ve talked about my love for THE 100 before. I’ve also ranted about it many times on Twitter.

The thing about THE 100 is that admittedly, the plot isn’t the most spectacular. It’s pretty good, to be fair, but the characters? Oh. My. God. The CHARACTERS. I’m in love with all of them. You’ve got Clarke, the privileged “princess” who just wants to keep her friends safe; Bellamy “whatever the hell we want” Blake, the guy who only cares about himself and his sister but {spoiler alert} is an actual TEDDY BEAR and JUST WANTS TO PROTECT EVERYONE; the-tough-as-nails youngest-ever Zero-G mechanic, Raven, who grew up having to fend for herself and won’t let anyone else take care of her; and Octavia, the brave girl who grew up under the floor and refuses to let anyone put her or her friends down there again. I could literally go on and on about every single character, because even if they’re “bad” people, I still love their characters. Jasper. Monty. Maya. Lincoln. Murphy. Finn (I’M STILL NOT OVER WHAT HAPPENED, GUYS). Miller. Abby. Kane. Jaha.

And then there’s also the philosophical part. The morality and humanity in this show are so rich. It asks the deep questions about who we are, and what humanity is. It shows that characters who have nothing but good intentions can do horrible, horrible things. There isn’t any black-and-white morality in this show. It’s all shades of grey. These people will do whatever they have to do to survive.

The best description I’ve heard of this show came from Tumblr. It went something like this: THE 100 isn’t a crappy teen drama disguised as a sprawling sci-fi; it’s a HOLY BEJEEZUS AMAZING sci-fi show disguised as a teen drama. And that’s true. I’ve never heard of anyone who’s watched THE 100 and hated it.

Please, please do yourself a favour and watch it. You can find it on Netflix, where the first two seasons are available for binge-watching and new episodes are available every Friday. If you’re in the States, it also airs on Thursday nights at 9 PM EST on CW.

  • SCORPION

An eccentric genius forms an international network of super-geniuses to act as the last line of defense against the complicated threats of the modern world.

THIS. SHOW.

There might be a theme to my TV-watching habits. That theme is character. And even though SCORPION has pretty dang awesome plots, the characters are even more amazing.

Picture this: four geniuses. One has an IQ of 198, but doesn’t know how to be “human”. The second is a math nerd who loves Super Fun Guy comics and even though he can calculate mathematical problems and hack servers faster than anyone, suffers from near-crippling anxiety. The third is a badass female mechanic who learned early not to trust anything but her machines. The fourth is an asshole psychologist who makes horrible jokes and acts like nothing touches him, but really, really loves Happy (aforementioned female mechanic).

Also: Paige, a “normal” who helps the team out with social situations and feelings; Ralph, Paige’s genius ten-year-old son; and a rough-around-the-edges-but-cuddly-inside Homeland agent.

Do you understand why I love this show yet?

SCORPION is funny, real, and even heart-breaking. Like THE 100, every character on this show holds a spot in my heart.

Scorpion airs on Mondays at 9 PM EST on CBS. Unfortunately, it’s in its second season now, and the first isn’t on shomi or Netflix. I’d check online for it.

  • MARVEL’S AGENT CARTER

Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell, reprising her role from the “Captain America” films) is an unstoppable secret agent for the Strategic Scientific Reserve, dedicated to fighting new atomic threats that have emerged after World War II. After working in New York, Peggy heads across the country to Los Angeles for her most dangerous assignment yet. As Peggy explores the bright lights of Hollywood and discovers new friends—and perhaps a new romance—a sinister threat emerges that could impact everyone she is sworn to protect.

!!!

I’m sure everyone’s aware of how much I love Peggy Carter. I’ve talked about her before. I’m a Marvel dork, man. But Peggy Carter holds a special place in my heart for so many reasons. She’s badass. She’s fabulous. She has an amazing wardrobe. She’s witty and sarcastic. She doesn’t take crap from anyone. She’s freaking GORGEOUS. She had a thing with Cap.

But most of all, I love her because even though she’s one of the strongest fictional characters I’ve come across, she’s not afraid to show emotion. She doesn’t hide her femininity, or else try and make herself one of the boys. She’s just Peggy. She wears fabulous pantsuits and lipstick. She can take you out wearing an evening dress. And even though she can be tough-as-nails when needed, she’s not afraid to show her softer side. She’s not afraid to show she’s hurt. And she’s not afraid to let herself feel hurt. She just lets herself feel, and then tries to move on.

There’s also an impressive cast of characters that shouldn’t be forgotten, either. Even though AGENT CARTER is about Agent Carter herself, it’s also a period drama that isn’t afraid to address the real issues. It doesn’t shy away from showing the sexism or racism of the time. It embraces those things wholeheartedly, but it also shows that even though sexism and racism were rampant, there were also those who weren’t like that. And there were those who could change their opinions, too.

(There’s also something to be said about Agent Sousa, but I’m still not sure how I feel about the premiere, and I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone, so I won’t get into that.)

Agent Carter airs on Tuesdays at 9 PM EST on ABC and CTV. Please—please—do yourself a favour and watch it.

 

What are your favourite shows?

4 thoughts on “January Watches

  1. I watch waaaaay to many shows to possibly narrow it down. Of those, The 100 and Agent Carter. Both of them are amazing.

    Just a few of my current favorites: DC’s Legends of Tomorrow is showing promise. I’ve been in and out of Arrow and The Flash, but Legends is so far very enjoyable if you like ensemble cast superhero stories.

    And

    Mercy Street on PBS is really pulling me in with only three episodes so far. It’s a civil war drama, not sure if that’s your style, but if you like historical drama then it’s definitely worth looking into.

    Like

    1. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Legends of Tomorrow! I also watch The Flash (and love it) and I used to watch Arrow until like last season, when it just got too drama-y for my taste. And I’m always down for anything superhero, so I’ll check it out when I have some time.

      Historical dramas aren’t usually my thing, but then again, I can pretty much get into anything as long as the writing’s good, so I’ll definitely look into Mercy Street.
      Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Fair warning about Mercy Street, it take places in a Union hospital so there can be gore. And there are a few heavy scenes of an adult nature, I’d say the second episode should have a trigger warning. I didn’t think about it until now and I wanted to give you warning. It is a very good show with a great script, but I’d look into reviews if there are things you would want to avoid seeing.

        But Legends is definitely growing on me and if you like the flash and have watched Arrow, you’ll enjoy the spill over elements. All three are in the same universe.

        Liked by 1 person

Add a Comment

