April Reads: THE SWORD OF SUMMER

Sorry for the lack of a post last week! I’ve been really busy this last little while with interviews, jobs, school and a hell of a lot of other stuff. I’m going to try and keep up blogging weekly from now on, but some adjustments will have to be made, like this one: instead of three books per month, I’m whittling it down to a lonely one. It’ll still be in the same format: Goodreads blurb, link, and my thoughts on it, but I’ve got to pare it down a little. Sorry, guys. But that just means more in depth reviews!

The book I’ve chosen this month is THE SWORD OF SUMMER, the first book in the new MAGNUS CHASE AND THE GODS OF ASGARD series by one of my favourite authors, Rick Riordan.

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die…

(Goodreads)

I’ll admit, I was a little apprehensive about starting this series. I mean, I was already majorly in love with the PERCY JACKSON series(es), and I wasn’t sure if anything could top those or even come close. Worse, I was scared this would seem like a cheap knockoff of Percy. Plus, I knew next to nothing about Norse Mythology (at least, nothing Thor hadn’t taught me).

But I was pleasantly surprised. I mean, okay, nothing can top Rick Riordan’s Greek Mythology novels, but this one came pretty darn close. Magnus Chase brought with him the same kind of off-the-wall sarcasm and humor that I fell in love with in the first PERCY JACKSON series, but with his own twist. As a street kid, he brought something gritty to the story that I’ve never gotten from Rick Riordan before. I also found it to have a few more mature themes in this book (don’t worry, it’s still pretty clean and without cursing), because whereas PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS and THE HEROES OF OLYMPUS were more Middle Grade, this one’s straight up Young Adult.

Also, can we talk about Samirah? Because YES. YES. A hijab-wearing Muslim girl kicking butt and just generally being awesome? I. Am. Here. For. This. Representation is so important in novels, but especially in MG and YA. And even though Rick Riordan’s got a pretty good track record with POC and LGBT characters—Hazel, Frank, Piper, Nico, etc.—this one took the cake. You outdid yourself this time, Riordan. Thank you.

(Also: ANNABETH. I loved her appearances in the novel, and I can only hope Percy makes a cameo in the future, too.)

Okay. I’m done fangirling now, I swear.

(…For now.)

 

What did you read this month? 🙂

2 thoughts on “April Reads: THE SWORD OF SUMMER

Add a Comment

