University Scares Me

In less than two weeks, I’ll be moving to university.

Here’s the thing: I’m an only child with social anxiety. I have lived with my parents for the last seventeen years of my life, and only shared a room with non-family members twice—both times for school trips. I went to the same high school for four years and had classes with people I knew from elementary school. Most of my friends are ones I’ve had for years.

But I have no idea what university’s going to be like. I have no idea who my roommates are, who my classmates are, who most of my profs are. None of my friends are going to my school, either—one’s moving two hours away, another’s going to the local college, and two more are doing a victory lap to improve marks.

High school, though unpleasant at times, was comfortable. I had friends. I knew who almost everyone in my graduation class was (as the resident shy kid, you become pretty good at people-watching). My classes were at the same time every day, and when things got tough, I knew I could go home for lunch or after school to take a breath.

Now I’m moving to a new place, surrounded by new people, and stuck in the middle of new situations.

Truthfully, I am wholly unprepared for university. The coursework is one thing; I have the time management and work ethic down already. But the social aspect… not quite so much. Crowds make me anxious sometimes; new people I want to leave a good impression on even more. I’ve never been to a party, never been on a date. Hell, I barely even know how to talk to boys.

It’s not that I don’t want to go through with it. I got accepted to a great program at a great university, and I’m excited to learn as much as I can. Learning new stuff is one of my favourite things. But it’s the build-up to all that that’s killing me.

Because although there are dozens of articles online about surviving your first week of school and having fun at frosh week, not many of them tell you how stressful getting there will be. It’s probably going to be one of the most stressful times of your life. And for anyone out there going through it too, I wish you luck.

university uni college scared anxiety school high school blog blogger pin pinterest

To follow me on my university journey, click here.

2 thoughts on “University Scares Me

  1. You can do it! I know it’s easier said than done. I am a graduate with social anxiety and when I got into uni I didn’t actually think I would ever go. I couldn’t imagine moving away from home with all of my comforts but I can assure you that it is the best thing I ever did! You can do this and you will feel so much better for it! Good luck. I’m following you, I look forward to reading your updates on this matter!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It’ll be a difficult adjustment, but I’m sure I’ll get there in the end. I’m planning on doing an update once school starts to give another perspective as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Add a Comment

