A Year of University in Pictures

On Thursday, I finished my first year of university.

I’m not going to tell you that it was perfect, or amazing, or whatever else. Because truth was, it wasn’t. At times, it honestly sucked. There were several times throughout the year that assignments nearly overwhelmed me. Hey, last week I had four exams within five days, and two of them were on the same day. I’ve had several existential crises and several times where I had no idea who the hell I was. Right in the midst of midterms, I found out I had to switch majors because the one I’d planned on and was in love with got cancelled.

But it’s also been one of the best times of my life, and if I said any different I would be lying.

Sure, it was hard. It was stressful. I was a sheltered, socially-awkward and anxiety-ridden only child. I wasn’t used to having a lot of friends, or making new ones. Suddenly finding myself living with four girls I’d never met before—on a floor full of people I also didn’t know. But it turned out far better than I’d ever expected. Instead of fading away, I found a community of girls I love and am incredibly proud of. And at the end of the day, I wouldn’t trade my university experience for anything.

So in honor of finishing my first year at university with some of the best people I’ve ever had the privilege of knowing—and because I’m too exhausted to write anything else—here’s a year at university in pictures.

university pictures first year freshman
From O-Week (frosh week). This was within the first week of us being roommates, and we were already getting along fine.
university pictures first year freshman
At a fancy mixer (note the stick-on nametags). Probably laughing at something dumb.
university pictures first year freshman
Just two gals trying to be James Bond. Also, coincidentally sort of matching?
university pictures first year freshman
My parents threw me a surprise party for my eighteenth birthday and invited my friends. I love them.
university pictures first year freshman
… no comment.
university pictures first year freshman
At our second faculty-related mixer of the year! Still having fun, but no longer laughing at something dumb.
university pictures first year freshman
Afterwards, we went back to our dorm and chilled. Everyone else changed. I stayed in my clothes because I’m extra and enjoy being fancy.
university pictures first year freshman
My best friend Robin came to visit my dorm before she went back to Queens for second term! Thus birthed the Uncle Tim/Nephew Danny dichotomy. Don’t ask.
university pictures first year freshman
Please ignore the hair. Her makeup looks great here, though.
university pictures first year freshman
VIctoria and I went to the ROM with the Classics Society and I had my usual fun snapchatting statues.
university pictures first year freshman
Here is Victoria behind a fancy, important door. I made her pose for this.
university pictures first year freshman
My roommates and I before Arts Formal. I think this one is pretty indicative of our personalities, to be honest.
university pictures first year freshman
Victoria and I before the dance. This is a pretty goofy shot, but both us roomies look really happy, so why not.
university pictures first year freshman
This was during a late-night study session before a test on postmodernism. I came prepared.
formal
Our last dance/formal of the year. Seriously. I don’t have anymore dresses, y’all.
Bond 2
Of course Dani and I had to recreate our Bond pose from our first fancy event.

All posts about my first-year experience can be found here.

university uni college first year freshman school student experience blog blogger pin pinterest

One thought on “ A Year of University in Pictures

Add a Comment

